top of page

Women's Recovery Blog

Search

FREEDOM: A Poem



Here

I Am.

Sitting

Still.

Lying down.

The Lincoln Memorial

Pool of Reflection

My First 

Time

Free.

Free From:

Repression.

Sexual

Economic

Physical

Spiritual

Gender

Family

Religious

Cultural

Violence.

Fear.

Free From 

Fight.


Free To:

Remember.

Recover.

Want.

Need.

Express

Creativity.

Choose.

Hold

Accountable.

Justice.

Love 

Rights.

Write.

Protect

Me.

Free To 

Live

Peace

Fully.


I Am

Free.

I fought many 

To Be.

Many fought 

Before me

With me

For me

It Is

Finished.


I Am

Free From.

I Am

Free To...

Right?

You too?

I Am

Still.


Still

Many fight 

To Be 

Free From

Slavery.


Still

Many fight 

To Be 

Free To

Live

Peace

Fully.


For them

It Is

Still

Unfinished.

Half Slave.

Half Free.


Here 

I Am

Mr. President.

Woke.

Standing up.

Memorializing. 

Reflecting.

My First 

Time

Free From.

My First 

Time

Free To...

Oh Abe

What 

Am I

To Do?


"Protect

Rights.

Be

Free.

Live

Peace

Fully.

Tell

Your 

Story."

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page